For those who feel fear

I would like to share with you some paragraphs from the book “the WAR of ART – Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles” written  by Steven Pressfield.
For the past two years I have been buying and reading books on creativity and demolishing the blocks around it, and how to overcome fear. I have been desperately looking for wisdom and encouraging writings, so that I can step out of the treacle of non-doing. I have been looking for an all-situations-foolproof-passport that could set me free to travel wherever in the art fields.

The book on “the WAR of ART” that I am reading now  (in competition for my time with many others…yes, I suffer from reading a bunch of books at the same time) is “A vital gem…a kick in the ass.” – so says Esquire. It is comforting to bring down from a pedestal such a paralizing emotion as fear. And the book is indeed a gem. But let me write those few paragraphs that I read a quarter of an hour ago.

 
A pro views her work as craft, not art. Not because she believes art is devoid of a mystical dimension. On the contrary. She understands that all creative endeavor is holy, but she doesn’t dwell on it. She knows if she thinks about that too much, it will paralyze her. So she concentrates on technique. The professional masters how, and leaves what and why to the gods.

—-

The professional shuts up. She doesn’t talk about it. She does her work.

—-

The amateur believes he must first oversome his fear; then he can do his work. The professional knows that fear can never be oversome. He knows that there is no such thing as a fearless worrior or a dread-free artist.”

 

I am an amateur. I still need books to read in order to come out of my insecurities about creating art. I think this particular book is helping me.  I hope my post will help someone….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

